Reincarnate Yourself

StopQuitting

It is 10:38 pm according to the clock on my computer. I JUST finished my workout.

I didn’t want to do it today. It was the holiday weekend. I was tired. I didn’t feel in top form all day. I wasn’t sick but didn’t exactly feel well. I didn’t feel like myself.

I wanted another day off. I wanted a lazy day. It doesn’t feel like a holiday when you push yourself to do the things you HAVE to do when what you WANT to do is laze around with a cold and tasty adult beverage in hand.

I knew the consequences of taking another day off. I would be mad at myself and feel guilty, but I could get over that. Otherwise? Who would know? Who would care? It matters to no one else whether or not I take a day off.

My old self would have given in.

But I had this ad running through my head as I forced myself to put on my workout clothes and tie my shoes:

It brings tears to my eyes every time. I see myself in that ad.

I’ve mentioned before, the phoenix is a very important personal symbol to me. Isn’t that what all this is about? Shedding our old selves and coming back a little wiser, a little stronger, a little changed for the better every time?

It’s now almost 11 pm. I just logged my minutes and calories on my SparkPeople tracker, making sure I got it in for the day.

It might have taken me all day to get my workout in, but at least I can go to sleep tonight without having that lingering feeling of guilt or anger at myself for not doing it.

I don’t like the old me. It can stay behind if it wants to. I’m gonna keep going.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Daily Update, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Take it from me, we all have the urge to quit. Its the people who fight through that urge and keep going who are the real champions…. good job today

Leave a Reply

