Day 118 – What to say?

Willing Is Not EnoughI’ve been in this blogging rut where I feel like I’m back to repeating things over and over again. I know I started this blog for myself and I shouldn’t worry if people are reading it/what they think of it. At the same time, I do worry. There are so many good weight loss, diet, fitness, and self-improvement blogs out there that I can’t help but think that I could have one that’s just as good–if I could just figure out how. The end result is I tend to stop blogging because I’m comparing myself to them.

Yeah.

After all my posts about “Compete with yourself, not with others” and “Support others, but do what’s right for you” I get caught in the trap of semi-competition with others over blogging.

You know what? I’m going to try to go back to posting every day. But if I don’t have something to say, then I just don’t have anything to say. So maybe instead I’ll just post some motivational pictures without any accompanying text. Or a link dump. Whatever works.

As for myself? Well, on the exercise front July felt like a bust. And so far, August hasn’t started that great either. But just because July and the beginning of August wasn’t so great doesn’t mean that today has to follow the same pattern, nor tomorrow, nor the next day, nor the next….

On the plus side, I’ve maintained weight. I feel like I’ve lost some muscle (not a lot but some), but I don’t feel like I’ve gained much in the way of fat. However, I do think the weight balance from the muscle loss is from retaining water because I haven’t been drinking enough. It’s funny how not having a fresh water filter will turn you off of drinking water.

Some other things I’ve been thinking about in regards to this health journey:

I really need to eat more. And obviously not just empty calories, but I definitely need more.

I do really enjoy exercise, and have to remind myself of that every day. I’m not going to get fit through wishful thinking, though. I actually have to DO it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about where I’ll be in a year. I definitely want to reach my goal weight (or at least, size–I’d rather be a lean and muscular 130 than a weak and unfit 110), and wondered, “What then?” I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a personal trainer certification at that point. I’ve been having this fantasy that I’ve gotten my body to the point where it’s clear I’m not just a case of lucky genetics, but I obviously work out. And that I’m working at a job where I have to tell someone who wants to do something at a certain time that I’ll have to check my schedule because that’s when I go to the gym. Then they ask, “So…what’s your secret?” Then I smile and hand them my card and say, “A lot of work, but it was worth it.” I don’t know if I want to actually train others, but the idea of getting certified is a motivating goal.

Finding a gym. There’s one across the street that seems decent enough, but what I really want in a gym is one that includes a pool. Growing up, I swam competitively on our summer swim league. I wasn’t that great (although I usually did pretty well on the butterfly–but I think that’s because so few would swim that stroke) but I enjoyed it. I just really want to have the option before I actually join a gym and sign any kind of membership contract.

You’ll note that a lot of my thoughts focus on “WHEN I reach my goal” not “IF I reach my goal.” I will do it. And I will do it in a timely fashion. Sure, if I hadn’t borked up July, maybe I’d be 10 pounds closer right now. I’m not worried. The day I stop thinking about it is the day I’ll get worried.

All this said, I need to stop writing and get to my workout. I’ve been making some good food lately and put it in the fridge so I have no excuse to not eat well.

There is no making up for lost time, but there is making the best of the time you have.

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I feel ya, lady. I borked up July as well. My summer semester of grad school was so insanely stressful and time-consuming that I didn’t have a chance to grocery shop properly, and wasted a lot of what little precious money I have in ordering take-out. That’s a double whammy of bad.

    Glad you’re back though! I wasn’t sure where you’d got to. 🙂

    • I had a little bit of the extremes. When I have a break from school (the past 6 weeks were fairly easy) I find myself taking a break from the other things I was focused on. I guess it’s the issue of “busy people tend to find ways to keep themselves busy.” But then the procrastination that I did do on things like school then caught up to me and caused that stress. Then there were the car troubles and throwing my sleep schedule completely out of whack on top of it. So trying to get that back under control. At least there wasn’t too much back-sliding!

      Anyway, glad to hear from you! If you notice I haven’t posted in a while, feel free to poke me. I’m still in this for the long haul, but I know that when I get off track I tend to post very little.*guilty look!*

  2. I’m still reading… Even though I don’t comment often.

    Getting into a good gym can be hugely motivating. I would recommend choosing based on convenience (so important) and how busy they are at peak times 5.30-6.30pm. I prefer gyms that have a packed and varied group fitness timetable and ones that are busy all day and nearly too busy at peak.

    Being around lots of fit people following all kinds of unusual training programs inspires me and stops me from getting stuck in a rut.

    • I would actually LOVE one of those huge 24-hour type gyms. I see commercials for them and feel like I can thrive in that environment. However, the closest one is quite a drive from here, and the one I was really interested in doesn’t actually have a location in this area. The one across the street is decent, and there’s another down the road that looks good, but I think I’m going to really look after I get a job and see what kind of facilities the office may have or be near.

      I used to go to a gym that was circuit-based (like Curves) and while I liked it, it was a significant drive to get there. There were also some members who drove me up the wall. I might have told this story before, but we had these two women who would come in in the morning, sit down at the two machines that were most like recliners (like the leg extension machine and the hip abductor machine) and…chat. Thing is, with the way the circuit was set up, you were supposed to move every minute or so and go through all the machines. Instead they kept everyone off those machines for the 20 minutes they were in there, then they’d wipe the “sweat” from their brows, and head off to work. So while the main reason I stopped going there was because I signed up with a friend who began finding reasons to not show up in the morning, and gas prices made it not worth it to go without my gym partner, those ladies didn’t help me wish to stay either. Blargh.

      Anyway, thanks for your comment, and don’t worry about not commenting often! I do like hearing from you but I know how it is…I don’t even tweet much unless I have something to say!

Leave a Reply

