Day 63 – Some things that get me pumped up

Hans And FranzThe one complaint that I have about working out is that, from preparation to end, it can take me up to 2 1/2 hours. I procrastinate. I drag my feet. I whine at putting on my workout clothes and wetting down the sensor strip to my Polar sports bra. I hate having to figure out what equipment I need for the day, setting the weights, and moving it to the right location in the apartment. Even during the workout, I want to pause between sets and check Twitter or text messages. And when I’m done, I drag my feet again to put my equipment away and make a healthy post-workout meal.

I DO like working out once I’m in motion. It’s the getting into motion that’s a pain.

So here are a few things I watch/listen to that help keep me going:

Scarlett Johansson in Iron Man 2: This isn’t the greatest montage, but the mix of “normal” and “superhero” scenes get me going. I want to look like that. And I won’t look like that by sitting on my butt. (A friend pointed out that this is the perfect video for my Blood Elf rogue…publicly, she’s a paper-pushing yet shrewd merchant. Secretly she’s a cold-blooded killer. And she looks like Black Widow, too. XD) Anyway, this song and video of Scarlett Johansson walking are all I need to finish getting ready.

Some songs I threw onto Dropbox so I have them on my phone or iPad and can listen to them when I need a boost (in no particular order):

Girl U Want by Devo (from the Tank Girl soundtrack): “She’s just the girl…she’s just the girl…the girl you want!” That’s what I want to be, right? Although when I’m hot and sweaty to the point where I have beads of sweat rolling down my face, these lyrics make me giggle: “She sends out an aroma of undefined lust. It drips on down in a mist from above…” LAWL RIGHT. I know a lot of people don’t like, hate, or just don’t get this movie, but I love it. It reminds me of my pencil-and-paper roleplaying days. Tank Girl was my group’s go-to movie to put on in the background when we were gaming. It was our kind of humor.

Disco Science by Mirwais: Back in 2001 this song was used in a Victoria’s Secret commercial and was on our house music soundtrack when I worked at Express. I always caught myself dancing along to it while on the store floor, and to this day it makes me dance.

My Body ft. Ozruk by MrVoletron: I mentioned this one before, but I think MrVoletron did an awesome job on this mix. “FEEL THE STRENGTH OF MY BODY!”

Super Girl by Saving Jane: This is one of my theme songs when I’m playing Aili. This workout is making me feel like a super girl. /FLEX

Songify this: “Winning, a song by Charlie Sheen”: This just makes me giggle, but come on! When you’re pumping out a workout it feels good to hear, “I’m a total fricking rockstar from Mars! (WINNING!) Come on bro, I got tiger blood! (WINNING!)” When you need to get through a short burst, it helps to hear, “I have one gear: GO! (WINNING!)”

Tomorrow is weigh-in day. But yesterday I had….

Meal #1:
1 piece baked oatmeal
1/2 c 1% milk

Meal #2:
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 c 1% milk
ice!

Meal #3:
2 pieces Pepperidge Farm hearty 15-grain bread
1 serving thin-sliced roast beef
1 tbsp low-fat mayo
6 oz. low sodium V-8
1 medium apple

Meal #4:
1/2 Cornish game hen
1 c steamed fresh green beans

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Full body workout: emphasis on core/stomach

Sleep: I suddenly woke up and couldn’t fall asleep. I was just boiling in my sheets…not feverish, just hot. Like when my metabolism surges after a large meal. After I cooled off a bit, I still couldn’t sleep. On the plus side it made me sleep like a rock last night.
4 hours

Posted on June 15, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

