Day 60 – 2 Months Down. (A Progress Recap)

Fat vs MuscleIt feels like it’s been longer, but really it’s only been 60 days. I figured it was time to go over what progress I’ve made so far.

When I started, I was wearing size 14 jeans that weren’t tight, but when I got home I immediately changed out of them. I weighed in at 185.6 one night, and while it’s not the most accurate of numbers, it’s the only real official “high weight” that I have so I used that as my starting point. The next closest “official high weight” I have came from the weekend after I started, where I was at 184.6, and I know I had already slimmed down from shedding some water weight and lots of “intestinal matter,” but was also coming off of a fun weekend in which friends came up for Ren Faire.

When I started, my body fat percentage (according to my scale) was nearly 40%! >.< It was 39.4%, and my muscle mass was a mere 31.8%. Not good!

Since then, I’ve done the 100/200/200 program along with the SparkPeople “Spring into Summer Boot Camp,” I spent some time on the stationary bike, and now I am two weeks into a more intense body-strengthening program. I am glad I did the first two programs first because they were a good warm-up for what I’m doing now, but what I’m doing now is definitely working more of my body. It’s why I call it a FULL-body workout (even though each day focuses on one muscle group in particular).

The scale has shown a drop of 11 pounds, but there are other indicators that have helped keep me motivated:

My body fat has dropped about 3% now. My muscle mass has gone up a whole percent, and I’ve shown increases in body water (a major component to building muscle) and bone mass (up 0.3%). The first week I did my training program, I wanted to die. I had to modify a lot of the exercises for my level (knee push-ups instead of on my toes, etc.), but this past week I’ve noticed I’ve gotten better already and had to put more weight on my barbell and dumbbells or it was too easy.

Those size 14 jeans I wore before? I can pull them off without unbuttoning them now. I haven’t been wearing my 12’s since I started my new workout because it’s been so hot, so I put them on today…they are more than comfortable (I could come home after wearing them all day and not even notice I’m still wearing them) and are even loose in some places. Out of curiosity, I put on my size 10’s. They fit the same way my 12’s did when I went to Blizzcon last year. So if I keep this up, I should be considering those to be my “comfy” jeans soon!

My goals? I should be in those 10’s comfortably by the end of July. Not that I plan to wear them…it’ll be hotter than hell at that point! I have some other pants hidden somewhere that I should be able to wear. I found one pair of nice wool capris (think autumn-weight), but need to find my other summer pants. I think that this year, not only will I need them, but I’ll be able to fit into them! August, the 8th month of the year, will be my target for the goal of “I can button up my size 8 jeans.” No, they may not fit comfortably, but I want to at least be able to put them on and button them up–basically where I am now, just a size smaller. I want them to be in that “so comfortable I forgot I was wearing jeans” range by Blizzcon. They WILL be my go-to pair of jeans for that trip, I swear it! …and part of me is giggling at the thought of, “But what if I can fit into my super-ultra-low-rise “bikini” jeans by then? Realistically, that won’t happen. But by Blizzcon 2012? NO problem!

I don’t know how well the scale will cooperate, but it’s not all about the scale. That’s just one way to measure my progress. 11 pounds is no insignificant number. It’s 1/6 of the total I’d like to lose. But we’ll see how I feel about the scale’s advice later. It doesn’t rule me.

So…yeah, I think that’s about it. I’ll be 33 in a little over a week, and I’m just STARTING to live my life the way I want to!

Yesterday….

Meal #1:
1 packet Quaker Oats “Weight Control” oatmeal
1 egg
1 apple

Meal #2:
2 c spinach
4 oz. salmon fillet
1 tbsp fat free ranch
1 Activia Light yogurt (peach)

Meal #3:
Wendy’s Apple and Pecan grilled chicken salad
Diet lemonade

Meal #4:
1/4 cup quinoa (dry – 1/2 c cooked)
4 oz. shrimp
2 tbsp sweet asian chili sauce

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Full body workout – Backside (Back, shoulders, core, glutes, hamstrings)

Sleep: Slept in WAY late to make up for lack of sleep overnight.
7 hours

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

