Day 58 – CHILL.

CHILL - Girl, You Got ThisThe downside to following a lot of blogs on losing weight and getting fit is that you see those post from people who HAVE lost a significant amount of weight over a reasonable but-compared-to-me short period of time, and it can be depressing. I know someone who really threw herself into it and lost about 35 pounds in 3 months. That’s AMAZING. I’m at the 2-month mark and haven’t lost half of that.

I can’t help but wonder how these people did it. I’m sure part of it is that they had higher metabolism than me to start with. (Thanks, Mom, for that particular genetic malfunction.) I would NOT be surprised if a lot of the people’s blogs I read are from those who starved or fad-dieted the weight off, and I would ALSO not be surprised if they end up putting that weight back on.

But it’s hard to not be envious when I see my weight creeping off slowly despite throwing myself into salads, sweating myself into a rosacea flare-up, and doing lunges until my legs don’t want to work anymore.

I fought hard to lose those 11 pounds, and knowing what I went through makes it kind of daunting to face the next 55. I know, I know…nothing ever worth having comes easily. I WILL destroy those pounds no matter how long it takes. But there are still moments when I look at everyone else and can’t help but think, “IT’S NOT FAIR!” Then it takes all my will power to keep that inner 2-year-old from letting that temper tantrum become so bad that the only thing to soothe it is a pint of Ben & Jerry’s.

Gotta remind myself: my paperclip chain hanging from the blinds next to the computer is another clip longer. My muscles are developing, and now I’m seeing improvement in my shoulders and lats, which is making my waist look smaller (except on days like today when I feel that I’m retaining water because I didn’t drink enough). My legs from mid-thigh down are looking slimmer and more athletic. My NEW capris are already beginning to hang a little looser. (Glad I only bought one pair!)

I may be the slowest of those I know trying to lose weight, but dammit, I KNOW I’m doing this the right way. I’m building good habits, working out like a gym rat (and – *gasp!* LIKING it!), and I predict that even with an “off week” like when I go to Blizzcon, I won’t destroy everything I’ve worked for.

I want to make this costume for Blizzcon this year. Next year? I WILL be wearing THIS.

First things first: Yesterday….

Not my best day…need more veggies. Specifically, I need to eat more salads/greens again. Also didn’t drink enough water, especially with the heat wave going on right now. I felt like my brain was in a fog all day thanks to poor sleep. I kept waking up to this noise outside and couldn’t figure out what it was for a long time. I finally figured it out: There’s a light on the building right outside my window. All the grasshoppers and moths in the state decided to land on my window screen to bask in the light. It was like a party all night. “TWANNNNNNG!” went my window screen as they landed on and hopped off…I think the night birds got into the action as the smorgasbord on my screen tempted them over.

Meal #1:
1 egg
1/4 c egg whites

Meal #2:
5 leftover BBQ wings
3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #3:
2 slices Pepperidge Farms whole grain bread
1 serving roast beef
1 tbsp Hellman’s mayo

Meal #4:
1 serving turkey chili
1/4 c low fat sharp cheddar cheese
1 dollop low fat sour cream

Snack:
Roasted pineapple with cinnamon

Water:
2 Liters

Exercise:
Day off

Sleep: I had a hard time falling asleep (see above), and then kept waking up to bad/intense dreams (being chased by tornadoes). Not fun.
~5 hours

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

