Day 44 – I AM FIREBUDGIE, HEAR ME ROAR!

YEAH Lift WeightsThe 100 Push-ups/200 Sit-ups/200 Squats program…OWNED!

Today was the last day of the 6-week program, and despite some struggles, panting, grunting, groaning, complaining, cursing, and gritting my teeth I got through it!

These programs are designed to help you build up to doing 100 CONSECUTIVE push-ups and 200 CONSECUTIVE crunches and squats. But total today, over 9 sets, I did 245 push-ups, 378 crunches, and 331 squats!

The next step, really, is to take the test and see how many you can do consecutively. Well, I won’t be doing that today…maybe not even tomorrow because I want to let my muscles recover. But probably Sunday, I’m going to see where I stand.

I’m glad it’s over. It feels SO GOOD to have set a goal and succeed in doing it. It’s not the end of my workouts, of course–it’s just the beginning! But I think it really helps to set up a program with a finite amount of time so you have that “light at the end of the tunnel” to look forward to. And trust me, this is the third time I’ve started this program, but only the first time I got through it. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it!

What have I gotten out of it? Well, the most obvious result is my arms. OMG I HAVE TRICEPS! And yes, biceps too, but my triceps are popping like I’ve never seen them before! I never even saw them THIS defined when I rowed crew! Second is my legs. SOLID! Sure, my upper thighs need to lose some padding, but my legs themselves feel AMAZING. My knees don’t appear so knobby anymore with the muscles above and below them. And my core feels stronger too! The results are harder to see, and even difficult to feel with my hands, but I can tell my waist is tighter under the extra padding.

My heart rate monitor also has a “fitness test” in which it monitors your heart rate at a resting state to determine your fitness level. I took it on May 9, and had a result of 35, which was the low-end of “Moderate” for my age. That was a little over 2 weeks ago after I had ALREADY been doing this program for a while. I took it again today, and got a 38, which is in the beginning of the “Good” range. And this was only the first fitness program I’ve done, so it can only get better from here!

I’m also glad this program is over for other reasons: I think my body was finally beginning to adapt, as my heart rate monitor showed that I wasn’t reaching the same peak as I was in Weeks 4 and 5. That’s expected, and now it’s time to switch it up to work my muscles in different ways. I have a new strength-training program planned for the next month, so this is good timing. I think I got all I could out of this program for now.

Also, doing 245 push-ups puts a lot of pressure on the wrists. I would occasionally pause in the middle of a set (especially the final set where I work until exhaustion) to stretch and flex my wrists. I’m going to look into other ways to both strengthen them and correct my form some more for when I do this program again.

But overall, I felt this was a good “Intro to strength training” to get myself on a schedule, do some basic exercises that I could do anywhere (I have done this program in a hotel room on a trip before), and see some progress that keeps me motivated. It was a long 6 weeks, but SO worth it!
I Did The Hundred (Push-ups) Badge I Did Two Hundred (Sit-ups) Badge I Did Two Hundred (Squats) Badge

Tomorrow will also be the last day of the SparkPeople Boot Camp, so that’s two programs completed at the same time.

If I could give any advice to people considering programs like these, it’s this: You can do it if you put your mind to it. Just give it an honest try!

Yesterday’s report….

Meal #1:
~1/2 c egg whites
1/8 c shredded low-fat sharp cheddar cheese
2 tbsp verde salsa

Meal #2:
1 scoop protein powder
2 tsp Green Lightning
1/4 c plain Greek yogurt
1 snack pack (~4 oz.) peaches (in juice)
1/2 cup diet V8 splash

Meal #3:
1 Luna Protein bar (peanut butter)
1 medium apple

Meal #4: After yesterday’s revelation that I should eat some more, and that we’re planning a treat meal on Sunday, I figured yesterday would be a good day to get in a treat meal to get that cycle started. I told Ktok I’d murder a puppy for a Chick-Fil-A sandwich (yes, the classic fried one, not grilled), but according to my tracker I needed the calories anyway. I made sure to request a SMALL combo, and yes, I could have substituted a salad instead of fries, I added it up on their nutrition tracker and it wouldn’t kill my diet. I was anticipating today’s workout anyway.
1 Chick-Fil-A sandwich
1 small fries
1/2 small diet lemonade

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Spark People Video #4 x2 – Upper Body Strength training with resistance band
Spark People Video #5 x2 – Pilates Core Workout
Stationary Bike – 45 minutes

Sleep:
6 hours

Posted on May 27, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m considering starting something like the 100 push-up challenge. Push ups is something that I’ve never gotten good at.

    I’m not hitting the gym as much as I’d like at the moment but getting in a lot of exercising walking to and from my new job so I feel like my muscle strength is waning.

    Bet you’re heaps stronger than you were to begin with!

    • DEFINITELY stronger. I walk to the grocery store, and carrying back the bags has gotten SO much easier. I used to think that was because I’ve gotten better at picking out ONLY what I need (so less to carry), but every so often I come back loaded down, and it doesn’t hurt as bad.

      The push-ups challenge is good…go for it! It starts off really easy, but gets challenging quickly…and I was doing knee push-ups! But hey, I’ll be happy to cheer you on if you do!

Leave a Reply

