Day 41 – A Skinny Day!

Skinny JeansHave you ever had one of those days where you get up and look at yourself in the mirror and think, “Damn, where did all my weight go?!” That is, of course, thought in a GOOD way. And then you step on the scale and the scale’s numbers don’t seem to match up with what you’re seeing in the mirror, but you don’t care because you see a positive change in your body.

Today is one of those days.

My scale has gone up a little since last weigh-in. And yet, I can think of a couple reasons for that. I feel like I’m seeing more muscle definition every day, and there’s the whole “muscle is denser than fat” thing, so if I lost a significant volume of fat and put on some muscle, my size might have gone down even if my weight didn’t. For example, just yesterday I began seeing those lines along the sides of my abs. Sure, I still have a thick layer of padding, but it’s one of those cases where you can tell that underneath the padding, some nice shape is beginning to take form.

I also tracked back, and I’m due for “that time of the month.” I have an IUD (love it!) but it makes tracking my period a little tough since most of the time I don’t really get a “period” to speak of. I do, however, still get some hormone changes and the like that go naturally with a cycle. That includes some bloating and even irritability. Anyway, long story short, I’m pretty much due for fighting the Scarlet Onslaught any day now. I’m sure that has something to do with the scale, even though the shape of my body is good.

I love Skinny Days. Even if the scale isn’t cooperating, this is the time I can look in the mirror and say, “It’s working!”

It’s still a ways off before I consider busting out the skinny jeans, especially considering it’s finally turning to typical North Carolina summer weather, but it still feels good to have one of those days where I can’t stop looking down and marveling.

I’m doing this!

Yesterday…

I should have gone to the store yesterday. I was more or less out of veggies. I wanted a salad SO bad again, and it threw me off of my meal plan. It sucked. I reallyReallyREALLY need to be sure I’m prepared so having 4-5 meals a day is easy, not a scramble.

Meal #1: I know I’m trying to stay away from the “white” starchy carbs, but this is all we had, and an egg sandwich sounded SO good. I did my workout almost immediately after I got up, so this was my post-workout meal.
1 egg
1 slice Pepperidge Farms whole grain white bread
~2 tsp olive oil

Meal #2:
1 serving protein powder
2 tsp Green Lightning
4 oz. plain Greek Yogurt
1/2 c diet V8 Splash

Meal #3:
1/6 turkey quinoa meatloaf
1 c broccoli

Snack:
1 apple
3 oz. baby carrots
2 tbsp hummus
1 Activia Light yogurt

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Week 6, Day 1 100/200/200 – 190 push-ups, 283 crunches, 253 squats over 5 sets
Spark People Video #2 x2 – Crunchless core workout

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

