Day 36 – Weigh-in #5

Weekly Weigh InHere we are, starting Week 6. So how did I do last week?

First of all, let me say how excited I am to share this week’s weigh-in with you all. This past week I’ve really kicked my exercise up and have been really careful about watching my food. I’ve been reading more and more books and websites about food, exercise, and nutrition. The funny thing (to me) is that I pretty much pieced my diet and exercise plans together from bits and pieces, using what has worked in the past and using new information to build together a diet I can work with…and what I’ve discovered is that I’m doing exactly what I should be in order to get the physique I want!

I don’t want to just diet myself thin. I remember an episode of America’s Next Top Model (lovingly known as “The Skinny Bitch Show”–I love that show!) where they were in a dance studio to learn some model moves, and one move was to slide down the wall and then push yourself back up. One girl couldn’t push herself back up because she didn’t have the strength in her legs. She was thin, but thin doesn’t mean she was in shape.

I want to be in shape. I want to build muscle (which helps with burning MORE fat) and get a sleek, polished look. I know I will probably not get a fitness model’s body (I’ll worry about how far I want to take this when I’m closer to my goal weight), but that doesn’t mean I can’t use some of the same diet and exercise techniques. Women don’t naturally have the hormones to bulk up like body builders, so by putting more emphasis than before on strength training I am able to get more muscle definition which not only burns calories through my exercise set, but also burns more calories throughout the day. I’m also doing enough aerobic exercise (which, at this point, usually takes no more than a half hour on the bike after my other workout sets are done) to push myself to burning just over 500 calories. (I use a Polar FT60 Heart Rate Monitor to measure this. The best price I found was on Amazon.com…link to the black one I got, but it also comes in purple like in the first link. I just wanted one that could also pass for a watch that I could wear with anything.)

So I’m doing my best to eat around 1600 calories but vary that amount every day. I also try to burn about 500 calories. The result?

This past week I lost 2.6 pounds! That’s down 9.8 pounds total!

I’m 5.8 pounds away from my first milestone and reward!

I busted through the usual plateau at 178 pounds!

Now, I know that 2.6 pounds is a little high for maintainable weightloss (I’m really aiming for 2 pounds per week), but I think one contributing factor was that I also finished my 3 liters of water well before bedtime last night. I didn’t have to get up in the middle of the night to pee three times, so there was less extra water weight in the morning when I weighed in compared to the norm. I really enjoyed sleeping through the night(!), so I’m going to do my best to continue finishing my water at about the same time from now on.

But hey, just barely under 10 pounds in 5 weeks? That’s PERFECT! What can I say, I am SO FREAKING EXCITED right now! I also got to add 2 more paperclips to my chain!

Excuse me while I go bounce around the apartment for a while!

Yesterday’s results….

Meal #1: I don’t know if the pepper is bad or my stomach just doesn’t like pepper. I can eat it with salads, but in an omelet I felt queasy afterward. So I probably won’t do this anymore unless I cook the pepper a bit first.
1 egg
1/4 cup egg whites
1/4 c low fat cheddar cheese
1/4 bell pepper
6 oz. low sodium V8

Meal #2:
1 scoop protein powder (in water)
2 c spring mix
3 c strawberries
1 Fiber One Oats ‘n Peanut Butter granola bar (last one!) post-workout

Meal #3: I went to the store and was running close to dinner time so this meal had to be small and quick
1 Luna Protein bar
1 apple

Meal #4: I know that of all the toppings for chicken, BBQ sauce is one of the worst. But I worked it out on my meal tracker/calorie counter, and it was just fine. I cut up my chicken and dip it into the sauce, not slather it all over the chicken. It keeps my amount low but I still get to enjoy the taste. And believe me, I could eat Sweet Baby Ray’s with a spoon, it’s THAT good!
1 chicken breast, grilled
~2 tbsp Sweet Baby Ray’s original BBQ sauce
1 c steamed broccoli florets

Snack:
1/2 cup sugar-free Jello 1-2-3 dessert (made with 1/8 cup fat-free Cool Whip)
2 tbsp Fat-Free Cool Whip (we ran out of Reddi-Whip! XD)

Water: It really helped to finish this well before bedtime. Going to try to continue doing that!
3 Liters

Exercise:
Week 5, Day 2 100/200/200 – 160 push-ups, 240 crunches, 216 squats total over 8 sets
Spark People Boot Camp Video #4 x2 – Upper Body workout with resistance band

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! Almost 10 lbs… that’s awesome!

    I just got past a dreaded plateau as well at 154, so I know how satisfying that is 🙂

    I think you’re doing the right thing with your diet/exercise… there’s so much (often conflicting!) information out there, it’s best to just put it together to what makes sense and is maintainable for you – that’s the only way you’re going to stick with it.

    Keep up the great work! *high five*

    • Thanks! It helps that I have some experience in what does and does not work for me…although sadly that came from the ups and downs of losing weight. XD

      Plateaus suck, don’t they? I’m honestly pretty shocked I didn’t have my usual 178 plateau, but I think anticipating it helped with taking measures to bust it before it happened.

      Good job on getting through yours, too! They can make people give up and quit, but it feels SO GOOD to get through them! And you too…keep up the awesome work! *returns the high five, and goes for the down-low rebound!* 😉

Leave a Reply

