Day 35 – More protein! MORE!

Where do you get your protein?This is the last day of week 5, and I’m in a bit of a rut. Every day I try to eat several meals in which I’m focusing on protein, veggies, healthy fats, and non-starchy carbs.

But I’m out of ideas.

I do love fish, and I do love making it, but there comes a point when you just look at the oven and go “meh….” Same with pretty much everything else.

What I need to do is have a cooking spree and stock up my bento stash again so I can pull out items that are already cooked. As good as tilapia (and other white fish) is, I like it when it’s hot out of the oven. But salmon fillets keep pretty well, and I can make pork meatballs and turkey burgers and even cook up some chicken breasts again.

Having those items on hand makes it easier to find things for them to go with. I’m getting bored of salad, but having a shrimp salad one day and a chicken salad the next and salmon with my salad the day after keeps the variety going.

In the meantime, I’ve also picked up some different protein powder to help boost me through other meals. Some raw veggies with a little hummus and protein powder mixed in some water is a balanced “meal.” It might not be as satisfying as a steak and baked potato, but at least it’s balanced and gets in some more nutrition when I don’t have the time or energy (or inspiration!) to cook something else. And building up my muscle a bit more is an added bonus. But let’s face it, “convenience” is part of the reason we put on weight in the first place. If this can help me take weight OFF (and yes, I’m reading labels and NOT doing something silly like having a meal replacement shake WITH dinner!) and still be convenient, then I think we have a winner.

But even with convenience in mind, the BEST thing to eat is REAL food, just like I said in the beginning of this post: Meats, veggies, healthy fats, and non-starchy carbs. If I can identify what it was before I put it in my mouth, the better off I am.

Yesterday….

Meal #1:
1 egg
1/4 c egg whites
1/4 c shredded low fat sharp cheddar cheese

Meal #2:
1 tilapia fillet
2 c baby spinach
1 Fiber One Oats ‘n Peanut Butter granola bar (post-workout while I was cooking the fish for lunch)

Meal #3:
1 Luna Protein bar
2 tbsp hummus
3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #4:
4 oz salmon fillet with ~1 tbsp mango pineapple teriyaki marinade basted over it, then grilled
2 Krab-stuffed baby portobello mushroom caps
2 cups spinach
1/2 baby cucumber
1/4 c strawberries
1/2 avocado

Snack:
1/2 c sugar-free Jello 1-2-3 dessert (made with 1/8 c Fat Free Cool Whip)
2 tbsp Fat Free Reddi-Whip

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Spark People Boot Camp video #2 – Crunchless Abs workout x1
Spark People Boot Camp video #3 – Lower body x2
Spark People Boot Camp video #1 – Cardio Kickboxing x2
Stationary bike (moderate) – 25 minutes

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love tuna (one of those little 90g tins) stirred through a garden salad dressed in balsamic with lots of red onion and maybe some just-boiled potato if you want to make it more filling.

    For dinners I usually keep frenched lamb chops or a nice cut of steak in the freezer for days when I need a change if pace.

    I love reading your food diary – it sounds so bizarre to me! (and prompted several discussions regarding the origination of “bacon” coming from a turkey!)

    • I’m actually not a huge tuna fan, but I can see doing the same thing with salmon! I’ll give it a try! Thanks for the idea!

      And I’m glad you like the food diary. I wasn’t sure if people would be interested in that (which is why I put it behind a cut), but I figured it would at least keep me honest. It also keeps me true to the diet! Because if I’m debating whether or not to nibble on something off the diet, I remind myself that I WILL be posting it on the blog the next day which helps me put down the (insert “naughty” food here)! I mean, it IS okay to have something that isn’t 100% diet-worthy as long as you are careful about portions, but just don’t go overboard and all that.

      If you think of the process (and artificial colors, I’m sure) to make turkey bacon come out to look and taste like regular bacon, well…you probably don’t want to think about that. Just guessing. But I think the “strangest” food I’ve had on this diet is probably the quinoa. I’ve had it before, and it’s really good! It’s just hard to imagine a grain that’s really high in protein. But this diet has also made me learn how to cut a mango and an avocado, as well as develop a taste for mushrooms (I usually don’t like them because of their texture) and peppers. It’s like a kitchen adventure every day! XD

Leave a Reply

