Day 25 – Exercise to relax

Legally Blonde - ExerciseI’ve been feeling pretty good lately. A nice blend of exercise, eating fresh food, and that feeling of accomplishment when you see the number on the scale going down can really improve the mood.

The writer of one of the blogs I’ve been reading included how she got started on a healthy lifestyle in her “About Me” page. One of the tips she had was just something that occurred naturally to her as she progressed: Associate exercise with relaxation. When she was in a bad mood or anxious or depressed, she went for a walk to clear her mind. It didn’t have to be a brisk walk, it didn’t have to have a goal of “I need to burn X number of calories or go Y number of miles.” She just put on her iPod and walked until she felt better. If she couldn’t walk, she’d ride a stationary bike. Putting on some music and exercising became her “me time” to get away from what was bothering her, refocus, and come back to deal with it.

At that point, losing weight wasn’t her primary goal. But when the pounds began melting away, losing weight was her reason for exercising and the bonus was that by that point she associated exercise with relaxation and a happy mood.

I’m not quite there. I still drag myself out of my computer chair to do my workout. But so far I always feel good and have a sense of accomplishment when I’m done.

Yesterday….

Meal #1: I got up late, so I was a little more hungry than usual. I added in 2 more pieces of turkey bacon, but that was it. Protein tends to keep me full.
1 egg
4 pc. low-sodium turkey bacon
6 oz. V-8 + Fiber

Meal #2:
1 Morningstar Farms Chik’n Patty
1 Pepperidge Farms Whole Wheat Bun
~1 tbsp honey
3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #3:
2 whiting fillets (approx. 4-5 oz. of fish–they were small fillets)
1 cup broccolini
1/2 mango

Snack: Only 1 creme egg left!
1 90 calorie Twix ice cream bar
1 Cadbury creme egg

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Spark People Boot Camp Day 7 video – Arms and Shoulders

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 8, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

