Day 24 – Thinspiration

Food Is NOT EvilLately I’ve been reading a lot of “Thinspiration” blogs, mostly on Tumblr, that are all about healthy, positive motivation. I LOVE the ones that have dramatic “before and after” pictures, because it’s motivating: If they can do it, so can I! And I find it fun to see the pictures of things people want to buy or wear when they lose weight, or their goals when they hit milestones because I feel like cheering them on and gives me something to look forward to as well.

I’ve noticed a lot of these blogs post pictures of models, but I make sure that I avoid those blogs that will do ANYTHING to look like that. I don’t care for posters who insult the super-skinny (“Skinny bitches need to eat a cheeseburger!”) or the overweight (“Unlike those other fatties, I’m doing something about it!”). It’s one thing to say, “I’m overweight and I don’t like it so I’m changing myself,” but I can’t stand when people need to attack others to make themselves feel better.

Hey, I’m a curvy girl myself. Even when I weighed in at 120 or less, I still had hips and breasts. I know my figure is a lot like Catherine Zeta-Jones’ in that I was slender with definite hourglass waist and hips. Even at my lowest weight I wore size 6 jeans because of my curves. That was all about bone structure. I like my curves. I had a great body before, and I’m working to show it off again.

I’ve been on both ends of the spectrum, and have friends on both ends of the spectrum. I refuse to tear one of my friends down to make the other feel better, especially since I would also be insulting myself. So I guess I really wish people would rein in their abusive comments–if they love their curves and don’t feel the need to lose weight, good for them! If they are naturally thin or worked hard to get that way, again, good for them! The important part is how YOU feel WITHOUT having to compare yourself to other people.

If looking at pictures of swimsuit models or fitness models inspires me to eat a salad instead of a hamburger, or to go for a walk instead of sit on the couch, I’ll take it! The point is to do it in a safe, healthy way.

You may expect to see more pictures posted here that are my motivation. Things that I not only WANT to wear someday, but WILL wear. And maybe they’ll inspire others to find what drives them to reach their goals.

Yesterday…

I’m pretty sure I didn’t have enough calories yesterday, and don’t intend to repeat that. I was really busy for most of the day, yet dragging myself slowly through my day thanks to some people in another building having a loud party. I know I shouldn’t put my own nutrition aside, but everyone runs out of time every so often. And the last thing I want to do is “make up for it” at the end of the day by having a BIG dinner and then going to bed. I’ve been trying to not eat past 9 pm, for example, and there are times when I REALLY want to munch on things at night, but know I shouldn’t. I just prepare myself by looking forward to a nice healthy breakfast the next morning.

Meal #1:
1 egg
2pc. low sodium turkey bacon
6 oz. V8+Fiber

Meal #2:
Smoothie: 1 scoop protein powder, 2 tsp Green Lightning, 1 snack pack pineapple tidbits, 1/4 c frozen peaches, 1/4 cup baby carrots, 1/3 c V8 Fusion Light

Meal #3:
1 apple
3 oz. baby carrots
5 olives

Meal #4:
Jimmy John’s “Unwich” – Double turkey breast, provolone cheese, sprouts, cucumbers, avocado spread, light mayo, and wrapped in lettuce instead of bread.

Snack:
1 90 calorie Twix ice cream bar

Water: Almost had to chug at the last minute before bed. Was busy in the morning so I didn’t start off with my water as early as I’d have liked.
3 Liters

Exercise:
Week 3, day 3 100/200/200: Total of 88 push-ups, 134 crunches, 121 squats in 5 sets
SparkPeople Bootcamp Day 6 video – Glutes

Sleep: Party at the building behind mine kept me up most of the night. But they’re getting evicted!
~5 hours

Posted on May 7, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

