Day 22 – Weigh-in #3

Weekly Weigh InI dreaded this morning’s weigh-in. Based on the past week, I wasn’t expecting much. I felt heavier and sluggish, and chalked it up to kicking the exercise into high gear so my muscles were worn out. But I stepped on the scale anyway.

And then I did a double-take, and had to step on it a few more times.

There was a loss! Not a HUGE loss–just about a half pound (my scale only measures in 0.2 lbs increments)–and I am a mere 0.2 lbs away from beating 180, but it was a loss. I’LL TAKE IT! That’s 5.4 pounds gone…only 60.2 left to go!

I’ve been re-evaluating my meals over the past few days too. The Easter candy being the exception, I was still getting in more starchy carbs than I wanted. I’m not going to start extreme low/no-carb dieting, but I am going to make a concentrated effort over the next couple of weeks to cut out the white flour and breads and pastas and sugars, while allowing the more fibrous carbs like fruits and veggies most of the day, and the healthier grains like oatmeal and brown rice for breakfast and after my workout. It’s not just about what I eat, but when I eat it.

Making small, slow adjustments to my diet makes me more likely to stick to it. The hardest part for me is going to be finding ways to get in more veggies. I’ve never been a fan of most veggies, but if my salads from the past two nights are any indication, my body has been LOVING them. Lately I’ve been re-discovering how much I love avocado, and fruit in my salad eliminates my need for any salad dressing (I hate most salad dressings anyway). I have some bell peppers in the fridge that I need to do something with, too.

This, and the improved exercise may just help me push toward that next milestone this month!

As for yesterday….

Meal #1:
1 egg
2 pc. Low sodium Turkey Bacon
6 oz. V8+Fiber

Meal #2: The batteries in my kitchen scale were dead, so I had to guesstimate things like the baby carrots over the past couple of days.
1/2 cup rice
1/4 c shoyu chicken
2 mini turkey burgers
1/2 baby cucumber
~2 oz. baby carrots
3 strawberries
3 grape tomatoes
~1/2c baby spinach

Meal #3:
1 apple
1 Activia Light Peach yogurt
~3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #4:
Salmon fillet (~3 oz.? It was pre-cut, about the thickness of a deck of cards at the thickest point, and a little smaller than a checkbook. Actually, about the size of my phone.)
Salad: 2 c baby spinach, 4 strawberries, 1/2 baby cucumber, 5 grape tomatoes, 1/2 snack pack Dole Mandarin Oranges, 1/2 avocado, ~1/8 cup goat cheese crumbles

Snack: Last I have is a 4-pack of these things. Only 1 per day allowed!
1 Cadbury Creme Egg

Water:
3 Liters

Exercise:
Week 3, Day 2  of 100/200/200 program. Total of 80 push-ups, 119 crunches, and 107 squats in 5 sets.
Spark People Boot Camp Day 4 Video: Upper Body with Resistance Band

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My trick to getting in more veggies is soup. I always find snacking on baby carrots and such somehow makes me HUNGRIER, and just doesn’t cut it! So instead, I will make a big batch of a simple pureed soup on the weekend (pea, carrot, cauliflower, sweet potato, etc) and that gives me about five 1.5 cup servings of soup for around 100 calories, and is a great small meal or side I can bring to work. Somehow the warmness of it helps keep me feeling a little more satisfied 🙂

    • Hmm, I’ll give that a shot. I’m not really a soup person, especially as it’s beginning to get warm around here, (the air conditioning is already on most of the time!) but if it’s small and veggie-full, anything’s worth a shot! Thanks for the idea!

  2. Congrats on your loss! I managed a loss today myself after 3 weeks of travel that I wasn’t expecting. No loss is too small to celebrate!

    • Thanks! It was definitely unexpected and I did a double-take. Feels good when you get those unexpected happy moments on the scale, eh?

Leave a Reply

