Day 21 – Gotta bring it together

Scale - Exercise/NutritionThe first week and a half of doing this diet, I was focused on eating well. And I was shedding weight. This is a good thing!

The past week and a half of doing this diet, I’ve been focused on boosting my exercise. And I have been building muscle. This is also a good thing!

However, I’ve kinda let the eating slip in favor of the exercise. Some of this is due to the leftover junk food in the house that was still here BEFORE I started my plan. Most of it is due to things like Easter candy that I have slowly, but surely, been getting rid of. The weight hasn’t been coming off, and has, in fact, been going up slightly.

*pokes at muscles in arms and legs, then pinches waist*

Yet things are feeling more solid, and my clothes are looking better on me, so it seems to me that I’m putting on muscle but not losing fat as quickly as I’d like. If anything, I can see a difference in my face. I just want the same results over the rest of my body!

Tomorrow is weigh-in day. My hopes are not high for the number on the scale, but I know this is about more than just that one number. I know I should be taking measurements too, but for sewing being one of my favorite hobbies I can’t find any of the three tape measures I have here. Seriously, my body is LOOKING better, but I know how seeing that number on the scale can be motivating or depressing.

My challenge for next week is going to be bringing it all together into a solid week (and more!) of good habits.

That means:

  • Really planning out menus and grocery shopping accordingly.
  • Getting in more veggies, fewer starches.
  • FOCUS on getting in those 4-5 small meals.
  • My sleep has been good, but I need to get up earlier so I can get things done earlier.
  • Sticking to a regular exercise routine. The Boot Camp is a good start to holding myself to a schedule.

I’m gonna get this all in balance and routine! I swear it!

Yesterday’s stuff….

Meal #1:
1 small white potato
1 egg
1/4 cup egg whites
1/2 cup V8 plus Fiber

Meal #2:
~1 cup Leftover fried rice (Shrimp, rice, broccoli, carrots, green onion)

Meal #3:
~1/4 pound turkey burger
Salad: 1 cup spinach, 1/2 baby cucumber, 3 grape tomatoes, 3 strawberries, 1/2 (~ 2 oz.) mandarin oranges snack pack, 1/2 avocado

Snack: The last of the Raid Cookies
6 homemade gingersnaps

Water:
3 Liters!

Exercise:
Spark People Boot Camp Video #3: Lower Body
30 minute walk (turned my grocery store run into exercise)

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

