Day 20 – I didn’t know I had a muscle there…

BootcampYesterday I did my 100/200/200, started my Spark People Bootcamp, and followed it all up with 45 minutes of cardio in the form of housecleaning.

Ow.

I mean “Yay!”, but still…

Ow.

Even with stretching, I can feel soreness in places I didn’t expect. I’m not upset by this, and it’ll take a day or two to get it pain-free again, but the one thing I learned from the crew team is the best way to make that soreness go away is to push through it the next day. Exercise, get that lactic acid out, and the next day you’ll feel a million times better. Of course, you CAN just not do anything, but that doesn’t help it at all. Also? Eat a banana and take a multi-vitamin.

You don’t want a day of soreness to get in the way of your goals. Instead, mark that soreness as one of your “battle scars” on your journey to better health.

The good news is I think I’m getting the hang of including exercise into my day. I need to make a trip to the grocery store and do a “kitchen makeover” to help out with the foods. I was doing really well at first, but right now we’re a bit out of pretty much anything I would want to eat for lunch. That leads me to either eating not as well as I could (bad) or skipping meals (worse). Mostly, I need to get more veggies into this house.

Meal #1:
1 egg
1 piece Pepperidge farm whole wheat bread (toasted)
~1 tbsp olive oil

Meal #2: Post-workout smoothie
1 scoop protein powder
2 tsp “Green Lightning” nutrient stuff
1 tbsp flax seed
1 Activia Light yogurt (peach)
1 snack serving Dole Mandarin Oranges (in juice)

Meal #3:
1 apple
1 reduced-fat string cheese
3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #4: Shrimp fried rice
1 c rice
~3 oz. shrimp
~3 oz baby carrots
1/2 c broccoli
1 green onion
1 egg

Exercise:
Week 3, Day 1 of 100/200/200. Total of 72 push-ups, 106 crunches, 94 squats done in 5 sets.
Videos 1 and 2 of Spark People Boot Camp done (“Cardio Kickboxing” and “Crunch-free Core Workout”)
45 minutes vigorous housecleaning. YES I’M COUNTING IT HERE TOO!

Water:
3 Liters

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

