Day 16 – Royal Wedding excitement!

Wedding BellsI will totally admit to staying up all night to watch the Royal Wedding this morning. I have no shame. The only thing I wish I could have done was throw a semi-slumber party for a bunch of girly-girl friends and family members. I’d TOTALLY have us all dress up in our finest wear, wear costume jewelry and tiaras, drink tea and scones and finger sandwiches–the works! I love that stuff!

I usually have a list of people who motivate me. I like to watch America’s Next Top Model (lovingly known as The Skinny Bitch Show) when I ride the stationary bike, or I’ll watch movies with ass-kicking female leads (Mr. and Mrs. Smith is one of my top choices) while I lift weights. I know I’ll never be waif-thin or look like Angelina Jolie, but it’s still motivating to have something in mind when I’m working out. “Someday soon I’ll have a booty like that!” or “I can see my arms taking on a nice shape like that!”

Point being, Kate Middleton Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, has recently been added to my “inspiring people” list for fitness reasons! I read an article about a month or so ago that during the time she and Prince William broke up, she threw herself into an exercise regimen to get her mind off things. She joined a women’s crew team (and I know first-hand what a workout that can be!) and worked out virtually every day. She was driven, letting her work out help soothe any emotional troubles rather than plop on a couch and feed them.

It’s a known fact that exercise releases endorphins which helps your mood. Comfort food can also make you feel better, but it’s a much more temporary sensation, and way too easy to get caught in the cycle of feeling bad so you have a piece of cake…then you feel worse because it’ll go straight to your hips so you have another piece of cake to comfort yourself again…then you feel WORSE because you won’t be able to work off the calorie/fat surplus you just ate, so you have ANOTHER piece of cake because at least that made you happy….

When I’m doing my 100/200/200 program, I think of something that gets me angry or frustrated. It could be something on the news, it could be that the significant other left the toilet seat up, it could be a frustration over school work that’s just not turning out right, etc. Suddenly I can power through that set of push-ups or crunches with little problem. Funny how that works, eh?

As for my day yesterday….

Meal #1:
3/4 c Chocolate Cheerios
1/2 c 1% milk
1 apple

Meal #2:
1 serving (1/2 can) Chunky “Healthy Request” Clam Chowder
3 oz. baby carrots

Meal #3:
Salmon Wellington
1c broccoli
1/2 mango
1 hefeweizen

Snack:
6 homemade gingersnaps (raid cookies!)

Water:
3 liters

Exercise:
20 minutes stationary bike

Sleep:
7 hours

Posted on April 29, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

