Shoyu Chicken

Bento: Shoyu Chicken, rice, carrots, cucumbers, tomatosI found this recipe from Hapa Bento, and had been wanting to try it out since it looks like a good thing to keep in my freezer stash.

On it’s own it was a little salty (even with using low-sodium soy sauce), but having it with rice made it mild and tasty. I also added in a little bit too much of the Chinese 5 Spice because it was a new jar and I opened it over my cook pot so a little extra spilled out. Oops!

However, it’s definitely one that I’ll be doing again, and in the meantime I have lots of chicken for bento lunches ready to go! This was a REALLY easy recipe, too! (I took a better picture with my real camera, but need to find the cord to upload to my computer. In the meantime, enjoy a picture from my phone’s camera!)

Shoyu Chicken

Ingredients:

2 pounds free-range chicken thighs and legs ( it doesn’t matter if it’s boneless or skinless)
1/2 to 1 cup soy sauce to taste
1/2 cup mirin
1 tbs or more to taste of grated fresh ginger root
1/2 teaspoon Chinese 5 spice

Preparation:

  • Mix all the everything together and marinate between 30 – 45 minutes. Then put it all in a pot and simmer for on medium-high for 3o minutes, turn the pieces to insure even cooking.
  • Drain the chicken well before packing in a bento. Otherwise you can serve the chicken with the sauce over rice.
  • Freeze extra portions of chicken by wrapping individually for your bento-stash.

Aili’s notes:
Instead of using bone-in chicken pieces, I got breast tenderloins and sliced them into thin strips. It would probably be juicier to use dark meat, but I felt I could make it a little more healthy with the white meat instead.

Breast tenderloins are also pretty cheap and easy to cut. In the end, it looked like I was making a meat stew in a big soup pot! I just had to drain it and then portion it. So easy!

I used 1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce and 1/2 cup mirin for the recipe. It didn’t need any more. If I was going to keep the “sauce” and pour it over rice as part of a dinner, I could see where having more liquid would be useful. But since I was making this for a bento stash, I didn’t want to go through more soy sauce and mirin than necessary.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This reminds me a little bit of one of my freezer staples: a small serve (like 3/4 cup) of rice with 1 serve of Japanese style curry:

    http://www.asianfoodgrocer.com/product/golden-curry-med-hot-3-5-oz

    This curry is not very spicey and really comforting on a cold night. The little sauce thingy that you buy you add as a thickener/flavour to a boiled-in-water pot of vegetables.

    And I throw in a LOT of vegetables – carrots, beans and pumpkin go really nicely to a reheatable dish.

    For meat I’ll use a left over chicken breast or steak. There’s something about this curry that almost covers up all the meat/vegetables into something gooey and awesome.

    When I make it it’s about 200 calories for the curry (including potatoes) and then about 200-300 cal for the rice.

    If you see Golden Curry in your supermarket definitely try it out!

Leave a Reply

