Day 11 – Ow, my head!

Drunk Mage - from WowEh.comI actually made Friday’s post (Day 10) before I ate dinner, so I left out one detail: We had wine with dinner. Not just wine, but two bottles of wine. I’m glad I got in all my water, because that helped the hangover I had on Saturday. Oy! My tolerance just isn’t what it used to be…

I know drinking alcohol is actually bad for a diet. It messes with your metabolism because your body re-prioritizes what gets metabolized first. Anything leftover? Well, that just refuels your fat cells. Ugh.

However, I believe this is a lifestyle change, not a punishment. (Trust me, the raging headache was punishment enough!) I don’t drink often, the same way I rarely drink caffeine. As I said, this blog is to post successes AND failures. Well, there you go. I’m not perfect.

And it affected Saturday’s eating as well…

Since I got up with the raging headache and an upset stomach, it took me a while to be able to eat anything. For the first half of my day I slowly nursed a bottle of water to get myself hydrated again. But while I didn’t feel nauseated, I still didn’t feel like putting much in my stomach. So I underate yesterday.

When I did finally feel good enough to eat, I stuck with proteins and whole grains in small portions. We are out of fruit, as I mentioned before, which threw a bit of a damper on my eating plans.

In the end, I had 3 meals and a snack. It wasn’t enough calories, I know. Today (Sunday…I’m thinking of changing when I post so I post the day after instead of trying to squeeze in a post before bedtime) I feel a bit heavy. I want to say it’s my body retaining water to make up for the dehydration. I will be correcting that with more water throughout the day.

However, already I can see my face is slimming down. My jaw and chin are more defined and less rounded. I can see the dimple/cleft in my chin (thank you, Dad’s genes) when the light hits my face just right. And my jeans that were feeling tight? They’re still not loose by any means, but they’re no longer tight, either.

So in a week and a half, already I’m seeing some positive changes. I know they will be the most dramatic changes for a while, but I’ll take it!

Here’s the daily report:

Meal #1:
3/4 c bran flakes
1/2 c 1% milk

Meal #2:
1 egg
2 pieces of turkey bacon
1 Activia low fat yogurt

Snack:
1 Fiber One Oats and Peanut Butter chewy granola bar

Meal #3: Should have had some veggies with this, I know. It was a rush meal before raid.
6 small pork-filled steamed buns (the last of the batch)
5 small anko (red bean paste) steamed buns (NOT the last of the batch)

Water:
2+ Liters. I finished my 1 Liter bottle twice, filled a different bottle, and nursed that for a while but go nowhere near finishing it before bed

Exercise:
My schedule allows the weekend off for now. Starting this week, I’m going to be adding in some cardio on Tuesday and Thursday, maybe even Saturday.

So yeah…not a perfect day by far, and I paid for it. Some people would kick themselves and give up. Days like yesterday are okay if they are very rare and you pick yourself up again and get back on track immediately.

Posted on April 24, 2011, in Daily Update and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

